The About Stuff

Part-time bookseller, part time nanny, full-time mom.


There's a lot of ways to get in touch!

AIM: danelleoshea

5899 Newcombe Ct.
Arvada, CO 80004


Updated September 07, 2005.

These are some facts that I think will help you follow along in the blog.

I'm Danelle, 43 years old living in Colorado with my husband Mark; we got married October 2, 2004. He is a brit that was transplanted here nearly 10 years ago. Also living with us is my daughter Katie who is 19, and my son Daniel who is 17. I also have a 23 year old daughter Amanda, who lives on her own in a nearby town. She got married on July 19, 2003.

I was married for 14 years, my husband and I broke up on New Year's Day 2000. He is now remarried and just had a baby. We don't tolerate each other much at all. At the time the divorce was devastating, now I appreciate that it was the best thing that ever happened to me. I feel like I have total control of my own life now, and am a strong, confident person.

I grew up in Arvada, Colorado which is where I live now. I've moved several times, but I'm really glad to be back in Arvada. It has a small town feel, with big city amenities.

Mark works at a big help desk place about 30 miles away. I am a household manager/nanny for a family nearby, taking care of their 16 month old twins and their house. We also have a home business selling books on (Feel free to go buy one!)

I got my EMT license in December 2003, but am not sure what I want to do with it.

Mark has a 7 year old daughter Emma, who stays here part time to go to school during the week, and stays with her mom on the weekends.

Emma was born premature, at 25 weeks, and is very small for her age, although very smart and quite funny. She just started first grade, and is being treated for suspected cerebral palsy.

I have 1 sister, Cindi. She is a librarian at a school near here. I feel like I don't know Cindi very well. We've never been the type of sisters to divulge deep dark secrets to each other, but we do have a lot of fun when we get together. She's 8 years older than I am.

My mom and dad are divorced, and while the relationships have been strained in the past, they're getting better. My dad remarried when I was about 15, my mom is still single. My dad is retired and so is my mom, but mom volunteers at her local Senior Center. My mom still lives in the house I grew up in, my dad lives about 30 miles north of here. My dad has a great sense of humor, and while my mom is a little negative sometimes, tho we get along pretty well.

I have a cat named Schatze (shotsy), (edit, Schatze died in March 2005) a cat named Marla and a kitten named Emo. We also have a big fat rat named Louie, (edit - Louie died in April, 2003,) three mice (no they aren't blind) named Pinky, Aitra and Aiwa, (Edit - Aiwa died in Spetember, 2003) and a gerbil named Tanya. (Edit - 2 new mice have been added, Oct 2003. They are named Samantha and Jasminder, Tanya died in Spring 2004). (Edit - all mice are dead, June 2005.) Daniel also has 2 fish and a frog. (Edit - the frog jumped out of his bowl and died Spring 2004. One of the fish died of dirty bowl syndrome in June of 2005)(Edit - the last fish died in August of 2005. I suspect neglected bowl disease.)

I stress about money and my kids almost all the time, though everything always seems to work out.

General Stuff:
Name: Danelle (nicknames Dani, Nell)
Height: 5' 4"
Hair/Eyes: Hazel (naturally anyway)
Birthday: May 22, 1962
City of Birth: Denver, CO
U.S. City of Choice: Las Vegas, NV
Favorite Color(s): Purple, Lime Green, Black
Favorite Movies: Shawshank Redemption, Life is Beautiful
Musical Taste: I like alternative music, some top 40. Saves the Day, Good Charlotte, New Found Glory, Green Day
Hobbies: The internet, reading, cooking, writing.
Favorite Magazine: Cosmopolitan (Gotta learn how to turn my man ON!)
Favorite Band: Saves the Day
Favorite Female Singer: Celine Dion (shsut UP!)
Favorite TV Sitcoms: Seinfeld, Friends
Favorite TV Shows: Survivor, Amazing Race, Big Brother
Favorite Board Games: Scrabble, Trivial Pursuit

Favorite Smells: Rain, Onions and garlic cooking, a campfire, Chanel No.5.
Least Favorite Smells: fish, b.o., incense
Least Favorite Sound: Anything rhythmic makes me crazy. tap, tap, tap. And rap music.
Favorite Weather: Thunderstorms
Favorite Type of Hat: I am so not a hat person. I look ridiculous in all hats.
Favorite Drink: 7-11 Slurpees, any kind of frozen slushie thing
Favorite Quote: "I'll sleep when I'm dead" - Warren Zevon.

Other random things:
What's under your bed?
Nothing, I have no bed frame, so the box springs are on the floor. Lots of stuff around the bed though.

What's the best feeling in the world?
My personal faith, and being in love with Mark.

What's the worst feeling in the world?
June 8, 2003 when my car, and three others in the driveway, plus the trees in our yard caught fire was really scary, and probably the worst day of my life.

What's the first thing you think of when you wake up in the morning?
"What time is it? "What day is it?" Where's Emma?"

If you could have any job, what would it be?
I'd love to be a photographer

There. Now go back to the blog and make sense of it yourself.